Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Preview

Jon Wilde 16 Nov 2019
  • Republic of Ireland vs Denmark predictions for their Euro 2020 qualifier on Monday

  • We are backing the spoils to be shared in Dublin

  • Join bet365 and get up to £100 in bet credits

Republic of Ireland’s Robbie Brady (PA Images)

Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £70 with BetVictor

Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Match Info

Date: Monday November 18 2019
Kick-off time: 7.45pm GMT
Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin
Referee: Felix Brych (Germany)

Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches

June 7 2019: Denmark 1-1 Republic of Ireland

November 19 2018: Denmark 0-0 Republic of Ireland
October 13 2018: Republic of Ireland 0-0 Denmark

Total head-to-head matches played: 18
Republic of Ireland wins: 5
Denmark wins: 4
Draws: 9

Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Stats

  • Four of the five matches between these countries since November 2017 have ended as draws
  • Republic of Ireland have won only two of their last eight home games against Denmark
  • Under 2.5 goals have been scored in all three of the Republic’s home Euro 2020 qualifiers

Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Match Preview

Republic of Ireland find themselves with a real sense of déjà vu as they take on familiar rivals at the climax of arguably the closest of all 10 qualifying groups for Euro 2020.

Denmark scuppered the Republic’s chances of reaching the 2018 World Cup when they won the second leg of their play-off in Dublin two years ago. Since then, these countries have also played out a brace of 0-0 draws in the UEFA Nations League while also sharing a 1-1 stalemate in Copenhagen earlier in this campaign.

Now, the situation is that the Danes only need to draw in Dublin to advance automatically to next summer’s tournament. If the Republic win they are through, while it has to be assumed that Switzerland, the other team in the qualification mix, will triumph away to minnows Gibraltar and thus claim one of the two places available for themselves.

Essentially, then, it’s win to reach the Euros, or alternatively Mick McCarthy’s side will have to hope they can squeeze into the play-offs and wait on other results to see if they make it. Denmark, who fared better in the UEFA Nations League, would not have that worry, already being guaranteed a play-off place.

It has to be a concern for the Republic that their old rivals pumped six goals without reply past Gibraltar on Friday, 24 hours after McCarthy’s men warmed up with a 3-0 home friendly success against New Zealand.

This will be another tense occasion, but draws between these teams have been commonplace in recent times and we are backing another to ensue – one which would again leave Denmark celebrating as they leave the Aviva Stadium pitch.

MORE: Looking for other Euro 2020 predictions? See our Euro 2020 betting tips section, packed with insight from our expert tipsters. Plus, if you want today’s strongest football tip, visit our Bet of the Day page. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Betting Tips

Draw @ 23/10 with bet365
Both teams to score @ Evens with William Hill

Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £33 with Bet365

Malta vs Norway Preview

Spain vs Romania Preview

Share this with your friends

    Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Preview

    Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Match Info Date: Monday November 18 2019 Kick-off time: 7.45pm GMT Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin Referee: Felix Brych (Germany) Republic of Ireland vs Denmark Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches June 7 2019: Denmark 1-1 Republic of Ireland November 19 2018: Denmark 0-0 Republic of Ireland October 13 2018: Republic of…