Manchester United vs Wolves Preview

Jon Wilde 14 Jan 2020
  • Manchester United vs Wolves predictions for their FA Cup third-round replay on Wednesday

  • We are backing Wolves to oust United from this competition for the second season running

  • Join Coral and bet £5 to get £20 in free bets

Man United Home Shirt
Manchester United
W
L
D
L
W
FA Cup
19:45
15 Jan
v
Wolves Home Shirt
Wolves
D
D
L
L
W
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Manchester United vs Wolves Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £70 with BetVictor

Manchester United vs Wolves Match Info

Date: Wednesday January 15 2020
Kick-off time: 7.45pm GMT
Venue: Old Trafford

Manchester United vs Wolves Head-To-Head Record

Last 5 matches (Premier League games unless stated)

January 4 2020 (FA Cup 3rd round): Wolves 0-0 Manchester United
August 19 2019: Wolves 1-1 Manchester United

April 2 2019: Wolves 2-1 Manchester United
March 16 2019 (FA Cup quarter-final): Wolves 2-1 Manchester United
September 22 2018: Manchester United 1-1 Wolves

Total head-to-head matches played (all competitions): 103
Man Utd wins: 48
Wolves wins: 36
Draws: 19

Manchester United vs Wolves Stats

  • This is the 11th FA Cup match between these clubs, Manchester United having won four and Wolves three with three draws
  • Only two of those 10 games were hosted by Manchester United and both finished 1-1
  • Manchester United are unbeaten in their last 10 home matches against Wolves

Manchester United vs Wolves Match Preview

Wolves are unbeaten against Manchester United since they were promoted to the Premier League in 2018 – and we are backing that to remain the case after this FA Cup replay.

This is the second consecutive season when these clubs have been paired together in football’s oldest knockout competition. Last term, Manchester United lost away to Wolves in the quarter-finals, whereas this time they have taken advantage of the replay opportunity at the third-round stage.

It finished goalless at Molineux on the first Saturday of 2020, United having the better of the first half and Wolves the second – which was entirely in keeping with how their meetings have played out since Nuno Espirito Santo’s side became a top-flight team.

Both clubs, who are also potential rivals in the Europa League knockout stage, rested key players and that is likely to happen again given their weekend Premier League commitments – Wolves visit in-form Southampton on Saturday, while United could not have a more difficult test than travelling to their fiercest rivals Liverpool the following day.

Although they lost decisively to their neighbours Manchester City in the Carabao Cup semi-final first leg last week, United have been generally solid at Old Trafford this season.

But Wolves have become something of a bogey team for the Red Devils, who could only draw last season’s home meeting when Jose Mourinho was still in charge, so we fancy the visitors to still be in the FA Cup at the end of 90 minutes – and also, for that matter, whenever both teams ultimately leave the pitch.

MORE: Get tips for other FA Cup matches on our FA Cup predictions page. Also, planning a goalscorer bet? Visit our Anytime Goalscorer tips page to find our latest selection. We have lots more free football tips across the rest of our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Manchester United vs Wolves Betting Tips

Wolves/Draw double chance @ 19/20 with Coral
Wolves to qualify @ 15/8 with Paddy Power

Manchester United vs Wolves Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £19 with

Match Preview Background

Rangers vs Stranraer Preview

Schalke vs Borussia Monchengladbach Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Manchester United vs Wolves Preview

    Manchester United vs Wolves Match Info Date: Wednesday January 15 2020 Kick-off time: 7.45pm GMT Venue: Old Trafford Manchester United vs Wolves Head-To-Head Record Last 5 matches (Premier League games unless stated) January 4 2020 (FA Cup 3rd round): Wolves 0-0 Manchester United August 19 2019: Wolves 1-1 Manchester United April 2 2019: Wolves 2-1…