Cyprus vs Scotland Preview

Jon Wilde 12 Nov 2019
  • Cyprus vs Scotland predictions for their Euro 2020 qualifier on Saturday

  • We are backing Scotland to win in Nicosia

  • Join William Hill and bet £10 to get £30 in free bets

Scotland’s Steven Naismith (PA Images)

Cyprus vs Scotland Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £100 with BetVictor

Cyprus vs Scotland Match Info

Date: Saturday November 16 2019
Kick-off time: 2.00pm GMT
Venue: GSP Stadium, Nicosia

Cyprus vs Scotland Head-To-Head Record

Last 4 matches

June 8 2019: Scotland 2-1 Cyprus

November 11 2011: Cyprus 1-2 Scotland

April 26 1989: Scotland 2-1 Cyprus
February 8 1989: Cyprus 2-3 Scotland

Total head-to-head matches played: 6
Cyprus wins: 0
Scotland wins: 6
Draws: 0

Cyprus vs Scotland Stats

  • Over 2.5 goals have been scored in all six previous meetings between these countries
  • A clean sheet has been kept in six of Scotland’s last eight matches
  • Cyprus have won only one of the eight games they have played since October 2018

Cyprus vs Scotland Match Preview

Scotland have never failed to beat Cyprus and despite the absences of three key players here, they are backed to maintain their 100% record.

Steve Clarke is already under some pressure as Scotland manager less than six months into the job, essentially because of four consecutive defeats against Belgium and Russia that mean his team cannot qualify automatically for Euro 2020.

But it is not all doom and gloom because the Scots’ achievements under Clarke’s predecessor Alex McLeish in the third tier of the inaugural UEFA Nations League have established them as top seed for their division of the play-offs in March, which is obviously of huge importance in the country’s quest to reach a first major tournament since 1998.

Clarke’s first game in charge of Scotland was a 2-1 home victory over Cyprus thanks to a late winner from Oliver Burke, and it has been the decisive manner of the losses to the two Group I qualifiers that has rankled the Tartan Army more than the identity of their conquerors.

The worry travelling to Nicosia is that captain Andy Robertson, in terrific form for Liverpool, fast-improving Manchester United midfielder Scott McTominay and Bournemouth winger Ryan Fraser are all out due to injury.

However, this is still a very winnable game against opponents who cannot qualify for Euro 2020 by any method and Scotland are fancied to build on last month’s 6-0 confidence-booster against San Marino with another success.

MORE: Looking for other Euro 2020 predictions? See our Euro 2020 betting tips section, packed with insight from our expert tipsters. Plus, if you are planning a Both Teams To Score bet, check out the latest selections on our BTTS tips page. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Cyprus vs Scotland Betting Tips

Scotland to win @ 13/10 with William Hill
Both teams to score @ 10/11 with William Hill

Cyprus vs Scotland Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £23 with William Hill

Denmark vs Gibraltar Preview

Azerbaijan vs Wales Preview

Share this with your friends

    Cyprus vs Scotland Preview

    Cyprus vs Scotland Match Info Date: Saturday November 16 2019 Kick-off time: 2.00pm GMT Venue: GSP Stadium, Nicosia Cyprus vs Scotland Head-To-Head Record Last 4 matches June 8 2019: Scotland 2-1 Cyprus November 11 2011: Cyprus 1-2 Scotland April 26 1989: Scotland 2-1 Cyprus February 8 1989: Cyprus 2-3 Scotland Total head-to-head matches played: 6…