Brighton vs Chelsea Preview

Jon Wilde 30 Dec 2020
  • Brighton vs Chelsea predictions for their Premier League match on New Year’s Day

  • We are backing Chelsea to win at the Amex Stadium

  • Join Unibet and bet £10 to get £30 in free bets

Brighton Home Shirt
Brighton
W
L
L
D
D
Premier League
12:30
01 Jan
v
Chelsea Home Shirt
Chelsea
W
L
W
L
W
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Brighton vs Chelsea Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £115 with BetVictor

Brighton vs Chelsea Match Info

Date: Wednesday January 1 2020
Kick-off time: 12.30pm
Venue: Amex Stadium
Referee: Stuart Attwell

Brighton vs Chelsea Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches

September 28 2019: Chelsea 2-0 Brighton

April 3 2019: Chelsea 3-0 Brighton
December 16 2018: Brighton 1-2 Chelsea

Total head-to-head league matches played: 9
Brighton wins: 0
Chelsea wins: 9
Draws: 0

Brighton vs Chelsea Stats

  • Brighton’s only win against Chelsea came in the 1932-33 FA Cup third round, 2-1 at home
  • The one other time Brighton avoided defeat in these clubs’ 13 league and cup head-to-head meetings was a 1-1 home draw in the 1966-67 FA Cup fourth round
  • Chelsea have not drawn any of their 10 Premier League away matches this season

Brighton vs Chelsea Match Preview

Chelsea ended 2019 with a terrific come-from-behind victory at Arsenal – and are backed to also start the new decade by winning away.

An inconsistent run of form looked set to continue on a negative note when Chelsea trailed 1-0 on Sunday for 70 minutes, but late goals from Jorginho and Tammy Abraham turned the game at the Emirates Stadium on its head.

That was a much-needed fightback from the Blues because if they had lost, they would have been in danger of being swallowed up by the chasing pack in the quest to claim fourth position in the Premier League table and Champions League football for next term.

They have an excellent record against Brighton (see above) but it may not be easy against the Seagulls, who are playing some eye-catching stuff and have one of the best home records in the bottom half of the top-flight standings.

Graham Potter’s side were much too good for Bournemouth on Saturday and midfielder Aaron Mooy, about whom we have waxed lyrical in other previews recently, produced a man-of-the-match display, scoring an excellent and decisive goal.

However, only runaway leaders Liverpool have won more times away from home than Chelsea this season and we think Frank Lampard’s side can kick off 2020 with another success on the road.

MORE: Get the very latest Premier League tips for the next round of matches on our Premier League predictions page. Plus, if you want today’s strongest football tip, visit our Bet of the Day page. We have lots more free football tips across the rest of our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Brighton vs Chelsea Betting Tips

Chelsea to win @ Evens with Unibet
Both teams to score? NO @ 29/20 with BetVictor

Brighton vs Chelsea Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £20 with Unibet

Match Preview Background

Fleetwood vs Bristol Rovers Preview

Burnley vs Aston Villa Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Brighton vs Chelsea Preview

    Brighton vs Chelsea Match Info Date: Wednesday January 1 2020 Kick-off time: 12.30pm Venue: Amex Stadium Referee: Stuart Attwell Brighton vs Chelsea Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches September 28 2019: Chelsea 2-0 Brighton April 3 2019: Chelsea 3-0 Brighton December 16 2018: Brighton 1-2 Chelsea Total head-to-head league matches played: 9 Brighton wins: 0 Chelsea…