Wolfsburg vs Gent Preview

Jon Wilde 05 Nov 2019
  • Wolfsburg vs Gent predictions for their Europa League match on Thursday

  • We are backing Wolfsburg to win and go three points clear in Group I

  • Join Paddy Power and get a £20 risk-free first bet

Wolfsburg’s Josuha Guilavogui (left) in action against Gent (PA Images)

Wolfsburg vs Gent Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £85 with Bet365

Wolfsburg vs Gent Match Info

Date: Thursday November 7 2019
Kick-off time: 8.00pm GMT
Venue: Volkswagen Arena
Referee: Massimiliano Irrati (Italy)

Wolfsburg vs Gent Head-To-Head Record

3 previous matches

October 24 2019: Gent 2-2 Wolfsburg

March 8 2016: Wolfsburg 1-0 Gent
February 17 2016: Gent 2-3 Wolfsburg

Wolfsburg vs Gent Stats

  • Before this season, these clubs’ previous meetings were in the 2015-16 Champions League round-of-16 in which Wolfsburg won 4-2 on aggregate
  • Wolfsburg have won their last six home matches in European competition
  • Gent lost in Wolfsburg four seasons ago but have won both of their other two matches away to German clubs

Wolfsburg vs Gent Match Preview

Wolfsburg are backed to seize command of Europa League Group I by beating Gent and overcoming their first wobble of what has looked to be a very promising season.

The Wolves changed their manager in the summer when Bruno Labbadia was replaced by Oliver Glasner, an Austrian who had taken LASK Linz into the Champions League qualifiers by finishing runners-up to Red Bull Salzburg last term.

That represented a strong achievement and Glasner has continued the good work at Wolfsburg, with whom he was unbeaten in his first 13 games before suffering back-to-back defeats against RB Leipzig in the DFB-Pokal and Borussia Dortmund in the Bundesliga.

Thus comes his first big test, to get his team back on track, and they are fancied to do that against Gent and make it seven straight home wins in Europe, having extended the sequence this season with a 3-1 success against Ukrainian club Olexandria in Group I.

After a 2-2 draw in Belgium two weeks ago, in which prolific Ukrainian forward Roman Yaremchuk scored a last-gasp equaliser for Gent having also bagged their first goal of that game, these teams are three points clear of St Etienne and Olexandria in the race to qualify for the knockout stage.

Both of these sides are unbeaten in the group, but we think only Wolfsburg will be able to say that after this game and with home advantage they are expected to claim the victory over Gent that was denied them so late on a fortnight ago.

MORE: Get tips for the 2019-20 UEFA Europa League on our Europa League predictions page. Plus, if you are planning an acca bet, check out the latest selections on our Football Accumulator tips page. We have lots more free football tips across the rest of our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Wolfsburg vs Gent Betting Tips

Wolfsburg to win and under 4.5 goals in the match @ 10/11 with Paddy Power
Wolfsburg to win by exactly 1 goal @ 13/5 with bet365

Wolfsburg vs Gent Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £19 with Paddy Power Sidebar Toplist

Leeds vs Blackburn Preview

Millwall vs Charlton Preview

Share this with your friends

    Wolfsburg vs Gent Preview

    Wolfsburg vs Gent Match Info Date: Thursday November 7 2019 Kick-off time: 8.00pm GMT Venue: Volkswagen Arena Referee: Massimiliano Irrati (Italy) Wolfsburg vs Gent Head-To-Head Record 3 previous matches October 24 2019: Gent 2-2 Wolfsburg March 8 2016: Wolfsburg 1-0 Gent February 17 2016: Gent 2-3 Wolfsburg Wolfsburg vs Gent Stats Before this season, these…