Watford vs Aston Villa Preview

Vedran Ostojic 24 Dec 2019
  • Aston Villa have seen four consecutive losses in Premier League

  • Can they pick it up and earn important points late in 2019?

  • Register with William Hill here & bet £10 to get £30 in free bets!

Watford Home Shirt
Watford
W
L
D
L
L
Premier League
15:00
28 Dec
v
Aston Villa Home Shirt
Aston Villa
L
W
L
L
L
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Watford vs Aston Villa Score Prediction

Watford vs Aston Villa Match Info

Match date: 28th December 2019

Kick-Off: 3:00 pm

Stadium: Vicarage Road, Watford

Watford vs Aston Villa Head to Head Record

Last 3 meetings:

29 Jul 2017 Aston Villa 0 – 0 Watford
30 Apr 2016 Watford 3 – 2 Aston Villa
28 Nov 2015 Aston Villa 2 – 3 Watford

Matches played: 17

Watford wins: 5

Aston Villa wins: 6

Draws: 6

Watford vs Aston Villa Stats

  • Watford sit rock-bottomed with 12 points to their name after 18 games played
  • Aston Villa sit three points clear of the rock-bottomed rivals going into the busy week
  • The sides last met for a friendly back in 2017 and saw a goalless draw at Villa Park

Watford vs Aston Villa Match Preview

Watford shocked Man United (2-0) in front of the home fans last week and head into a busy week in good spirits, hosting Aston Villa just days after their Boxing Day trip to in-form Sheffield United and surely hoping to build on the performance in search of points to escape the rock-bottom.

Hornets have struggled to score goals beforehand and while they’ve bagged all three points against Man United, we feel they’re still to prove their woes are behind them. They failed to find the net in three December games, where they suffered losses to Leicester (2-0) and Liverpool (2-0) while sharing spoils in a goalless draw against Crystal Palace along the way.

Aston Villa have, on the other hand, a streak of four league losses in a row behind them and while they’ve earned a real pick-me-up against Liverpool’s U23 (5-0) in League Cup, Dean Smith’s men haven’t been able to build on it. They saw a 1-3 home loss to Southampton since, which was their sixth loss in ten outings across competitions.

Villans host Norwich just days beforehand in an important battle to escape the relegation zone. Still, failing to bag an away win since their trip to Norwich (1-5) back in October will be even more worrying, as we witness a very unpredictable form and defensive slip-ups proving costly once too often.

We now hope to see Watford building on their recent displays at home ground and we’ll back them to bag all three points, going for a Home win at 19/20 with William Hill – which has been rated value by many in the know already.

We have seen Hornets very solid at the back here and we feel they’ll have to build on such performances if they’re to secure the points. With that in mind, we don’t expect many goals at Vicarage Road now either and we’ll go for Under 2.5 Goals FT at 5/4 with BetVictor.

Watford vs Aston Villa Betting Tips

Watford to win @ 19/20 with William Hill

Both teams to score Yes @ 4/6 with William Hill

 

MORE: Find more of our Premier League predictions and match previews here. Also, you can go for more low-scoring games we predict with Under 2.5 tips right here!

Watford vs Aston Villa Best Bet

Match Preview Background

Southampton vs Crystal Palace Preview

Doncaster vs Sunderland Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Watford vs Aston Villa Preview

    Watford vs Aston Villa Match Info Match date: 28th December 2019 Kick-Off: 3:00 pm Stadium: Vicarage Road, Watford Watford vs Aston Villa Head to Head Record Last 3 meetings: 29 Jul 2017 Aston Villa 0 – 0 Watford 30 Apr 2016 Watford 3 – 2 Aston Villa 28 Nov 2015 Aston Villa 2 – 3…