Wales vs Hungary Preview

Jon Wilde 19 Nov 2019
  • Wales vs Hungary predictions for their Euro 2020 qualifier on Tuesday

  • We are backing Wales to secure their place at next year’s tournament

  • Join bet365 and get up to £100 in bet credits

Gareth Bale takes a free-kick for Wales (PA Images)

Wales vs Hungary Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £90 with Bet365

Wales vs Hungary Match Info

Date: Tuesday November 19 2019
Kick-off time: 7.45pm GMT
Venue: Cardiff City Stadium
Referee: Ovidiu Hategan (Romania)

Wales vs Hungary Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches

June 11 2019: Hungary 1-0 Wales

February 10 2005: Wales 2-0 Hungary
March 31 2004: Hungary 1-2 Wales

Total head-to-head matches played: 11
Wales wins: 5
Hungary wins: 4
Draws: 2

Wales vs Hungary Stats

  • Wales have lost only two of their seven competitive matches against Hungary
  • Wales are unbeaten in their last five home games
  • Hungary have won only one of their latest 12 away fixtures

Wales vs Hungary Match Preview

Wales have got themselves into a great position to qualify automatically for Euro 2020 and are backed to complete the job with a home victory against Hungary.

This campaign was always going to tell us much about Ryan Giggs’ potential as a manager and after a start to the job that was far from completely convincing, the Manchester United legend has now started to produce a higher level of consistency in his Wales team.

Thus the situation is that if the Dragons win against Hungary in Cardiff, which they are odds-on to do, they will reach a second consecutive European Championship tournament – having done so remarkably well to reach the semi-finals in 2016, of course.

But this is a real winner-takes-all contest, if you ignore the ‘second prize’ of a shot at the play-offs. Whoever wins will go through with Croatia from Group E but if it’s a draw, and Slovakia beat Azerbaijan at home, it will be they who sneak in automatically instead.

In June, Hungary won the reverse fixture 1-0 with an 80th-minute Mate Patkai goal, but they are not good away from home (see stats above) and lost to nil in Croatia and Slovakia.

It is sure to be a tense night in the Welsh capital, but Giggs’ side have been strong on home soil in 2019 with a string of narrow wins and a creditable 1-1 draw with Croatia – and they may just squeeze through to another tournament appearance with a nervy success here.

MORE: Looking for other Euro 2020 predictions? See our Euro 2020 betting tips section, packed with insight from our expert tipsters. Plus, if you are planning a Correct Score bet, check out the latest selections on our Correct Score predictions page. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Wales vs Hungary Betting Tips

Wales to win and both teams to score @ 10/3 with bet365
Over 2.5 goals @ 6/5 with BetVictor

Wales vs Hungary Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £43 with Bet365

Slovakia vs Azerbaijan Preview

Brazil vs South Korea Preview

Share this with your friends
[contact-form-7 id="899" title="Share this with your friends"]

Wales vs Hungary Preview

Wales vs Hungary Match Info Date: Tuesday November 19 2019 Kick-off time: 7.45pm GMT Venue: Cardiff City Stadium Referee: Ovidiu Hategan (Romania) Wales vs Hungary Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches June 11 2019: Hungary 1-0 Wales February 10 2005: Wales 2-0 Hungary March 31 2004: Hungary 1-2 Wales Total head-to-head matches played: 11 Wales wins:…