Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Preview

Vedran Ostojic 03 Dec 2019
  • Atleti dropped six points behind the top 2 with a 0-1 loss to Barcelona on Sunday

  • Can they bounce with an upset at La Ceramica?

  • Register with William Hill here & bet £10 to get £30 in free bets!

La Liga
Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid
20:00 – 06 Dec 2019
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Score Prediction

Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Match Info

Match date: 6th December 2019

Kick-Off: 8:00 pm

Stadium: La Ceramica Stadium, Villarreal

Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Head to Head Record

Last 3 meetings:

24 Feb 2019 Atletico Madrid 2 – 0 Villarreal
20 Oct 2018 Villarreal 1 – 1 Atletico Madrid
18 Mar 2018 Villarreal 2 – 1 Atletico Madrid

Matches played: 36

Villarreal wins: 15

Atletico Madrid wins: 12

Draws: 9

Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Stats

  • Villarreal earned just one point in their last five outings
  • Atletico Madrid struggled for consistency just as much, with three losses in five games across competitions
  • Atleti ended a seven-match winless streak in head-to-head clashes as they beat Villarreal (2-0) in February

Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Match Preview

Atletico Madrid travel to Villarreal for their Matchday 16 clash on Friday, hoping to put a disappointing streak since late October behind them and finally bag their first away win since early October. They lost track of La Liga top 2 as Leo Messi made the difference and Barcelona (0-1) snatched all three points in an exciting contest at Wanda Metropolitano last week, which could make the task for Diego Simeone even tougher.

Atleti have been tough to score against but still have little to show for it, held off by Granada (1-1) and beaten by Juventus (1-0) in two outings beforehand. They created chances but failed to convert and saw it costly along the way, which will be just as worrying for the travelling fans now.

Villarreal have shown off as tough rivals for Atleti lately and they will want to do the same but they can hardly boast great team spirits of their own. They’ve struggled to keep it together at the back and this made it impossible to capitalize on the goals scored, dropping down the table and now sitting seven points behind the 6th placed rivals.

Yellow Submarine conceded eight goals in their last three outings as they saw Mallorca (3-1), Celta Vigo (1-3), and Valencia (2-1) all turn exciting clashes their way. Still, they have ground to build on and we expect them pumped up on Friday, with an obvious need to return to the winning ways at La Ceramica if they’re to climb back up the table.

We don’t feel they’ll be able to bag all three points but we do see them shutting down Atleti here and making the best out of the rivals’ struggles. We’ll thus stick our necks out for a Draw, which comes at 11/5 with BetVictor and has caught the eye of many.

However, we feel that we should be in for excitement here and that going for a Yes on Both teams to score looks like the best approach to the fixture at 19/20 with bet365. Villarreal have seen such clashes on the regular and they should now be able to do the same against Atleti.

Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Betting Tips

Draw @ 11/5 with BetVictor

Both teams to score Yes @ 19/20 with bet365

 

MORE: You can find more of our La Liga predictions with a click here! You can also go for more of our BTTS tips here and find exciting games we predict every day.

Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Best Bet

Match Preview Background

Toulouse vs Monaco Preview

Wolves vs West Ham United Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Preview

    Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Match Info Match date: 6th December 2019 Kick-Off: 8:00 pm Stadium: La Ceramica Stadium, Villarreal Villarreal vs Atletico Madrid Head to Head Record Last 3 meetings: 24 Feb 2019 Atletico Madrid 2 – 0 Villarreal 20 Oct 2018 Villarreal 1 – 1 Atletico Madrid 18 Mar 2018 Villarreal 2 – 1…