St Johnstone vs Rangers Preview

Jon Wilde 21 Feb 2020
  • St Johnstone vs Rangers predictions for their Scottish Premiership match on Sunday

  • We are backing Rangers to win narrowly at McDiarmid Park

  • Join BetVictor and bet £5 to get £30 in free bets

St Johnstone
D
W
W
W
D
Scottish Premiership
13:30
23 Feb
v
Rangers
W
W
L
W
W
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

St Johnstone vs Rangers Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £90 with BetVictor

St Johnstone vs Rangers Match Info

Date: Sunday February 23 2020
Kick-off time: 1.30pm GMT
Venue: McDiarmid Park
Referee: William Collum

St Johnstone vs Rangers Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches (all Premiership games)

September 22 2019: St Johnstone 0-4 Rangers

February 16 2019: Rangers 0-0 St Johnstone
December 23 2018: St Johnstone 1-2 Rangers

Total head-to-head league matches played: 117
St Johnstone wins: 14
Rangers wins: 90
Draws: 13

St Johnstone vs Rangers Stats

  • St Johnstone have won only one of their last 18 league matches against Rangers
  • Rangers have won nine of their latest 10 away games against St Johnstone and drew the other
  • Over 2.5 goals have been scored in eight of the last nine meetings between these clubs

St Johnstone vs Rangers Match Preview

Rangers must have received a big boost from their dramatic comeback victory against Braga in the Europa League on Thursday and should continue the good work at St Johnstone.

Trailing 2-0 entering the final quarter of their round-of-32 first-leg match, Steven Gerrard’s side rallied brilliantly to win 3-2 with on-loan Genk youngster Ianis Hagi scoring twice to further enhance the promising start he has made to his time in Scotland.

The Gers travel to Portugal this coming week to try and book their place in the last 16, but first they make the shorter journey to Perth for a second meeting this term with St Johnstone – the Ibrox clash was postponed due to the League Cup semi-finals and has yet to be rescheduled.

That means Rangers have a game in hand on their arch-rivals and league leaders Celtic, of whom they are 10 points adrift following a much less convincing return from the winter break with Gerrard expressing disappointment at his team’s attitude in certain games.

And they may not find it easy against St Johnstone, who began the season slowly but have really picked up since the end of October with their current spell representing their best form of the campaign.

Ultimately, Rangers are expected to be too good here but their margin of success is likely to be much less emphatic than the 4-0 triumph they enjoyed in September when Saints were struggling.

MORE: Visit our Scottish Premiership predictions page for the latest bets and tipping advice on the 2019-20 competition provided for free by our expert tipsters. Also, want to know our favourite tip for today? Visit our Bet of the Day page for the No 1 selection on today’s action. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

St Johnstone vs Rangers Betting Tips

Rangers to win and both teams to score @ 9/4 with BetVictor
Rangers to win and under 3.5 goals in the match @ 23/20 with BetVictor

St Johnstone vs Rangers Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £32 with BetVictor

Match Preview Background

Arsenal vs Everton Preview

Eintracht Frankfurt vs Union Berlin Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    St Johnstone vs Rangers Preview

    St Johnstone vs Rangers Match Info Date: Sunday February 23 2020 Kick-off time: 1.30pm GMT Venue: McDiarmid Park Referee: William Collum St Johnstone vs Rangers Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches (all Premiership games) September 22 2019: St Johnstone 0-4 Rangers February 16 2019: Rangers 0-0 St Johnstone December 23 2018: St Johnstone 1-2 Rangers Total…