St Johnstone vs Celtic Preview

Jon Wilde 28 Jan 2020
  • St Johnstone vs Celtic predictions for their Scottish Premiership match on Wednesday

  • We are backing Celtic for a routine victory in Perth

  • Join bet365 and get up to £100 in bet credits

St Johnstone
W
L
W
D
W
Scottish Premiership
19:45
29 Jan
v
Celtic
W
W
W
L
W
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

St Johnstone vs Celtic Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £70 with Bet365

St Johnstone vs Celtic Match Info

Date: Wednesday January 29 2020
Kick-off time: 7.45pm GMT
Venue: McDiarmid Park
Referee: John Beaton

St Johnstone vs Celtic Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches (league games unless stated)

August 3 2019: Celtic 7-0 St Johnstone

February 10 2019 (Scottish Cup 5th round): Celtic 5-0 St Johnstone
February 3 2019: St Johnstone 0-2 Celtic

Total head-to-head league matches played: 133
St Johnstone wins: 21
Celtic wins: 24
Draws: 88

St Johnstone vs Celtic Stats

  • St Johnstone have failed to score in their last eight matches against Celtic
  • Celtic have won their latest six away games against St Johnstone…
  • …but Saints have lost only one of their last eight home matches

St Johnstone vs Celtic Match Preview

Celtic are back in control of the Scottish Premiership title race and should ensure that remains the case with a straightforward success away to St Johnstone.

After winning 3-0 at home to Ross County on Saturday – which was the scoreline we predicted as we landed all three recommended bets on the game at odds of 19/4, 10/3 and 13/10 – the reigning champions were given a boost when Rangers lost at Hearts the next day.

It now means that if Rangers win their game in hand, they will be two points behind Celtic instead of moving ahead of them – unless either team slips up in the meantime, of course.

That Rangers catch-up fixture is against St Johnstone, who are Celtic’s hosts on Wednesday. After a poor start to the campaign, Saints have hit a much better run of form and been much more solid defensively – certainly compared to when they lost 7-0 to Celtic back in August!

The aim for Tommy Wright’s side will be to climb into the top six of the table before the league splits in the spring, while they will also fancy their chances of a lengthy Scottish Cup run having been drawn against Championship club Ayr United in the round of 16.

However, Celtic have returned from the winter break with a trio of victories and this is backed to be another that will ensure they keep their biggest rivals Rangers at arm’s length in their quest to make it nine league triumphs in a row.

MORE: Visit our Scottish Premiership predictions page for the latest bets and tipping advice on the 2019-20 competition provided for free by our expert tipsters. Plus, if you want Over/Under 2.5 Goals predictions, visit our Over 2.5 Goals tips page. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

St Johnstone vs Celtic Betting Tips

Celtic to win and under 3.5 goals in the match @ 6/5 with bet365
Celtic to win to nil @ 6/5 with bet365

St Johnstone vs Celtic Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £22 with Bet365

Match Preview Background

Rangers vs Ross County Preview

Fleetwood vs Coventry Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    St Johnstone vs Celtic Preview

    St Johnstone vs Celtic Match Info Date: Wednesday January 29 2020 Kick-off time: 7.45pm GMT Venue: McDiarmid Park Referee: John Beaton St Johnstone vs Celtic Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches (league games unless stated) August 3 2019: Celtic 7-0 St Johnstone February 10 2019 (Scottish Cup 5th round): Celtic 5-0 St Johnstone February 3 2019:…