St Johnstone vs Celtic Preview

Vedran Ostojic 28 Feb 2020
  • Celtic have seen a disappointing Europa League exit in the hands of Copenhagen (1-3) on Thursday

  • Can they bounce at McDiarmid Park and make their way to the semi-finals?

  • Register with William Hill here & bet £10 to get £30 in free bets!

Scottish Cup
St Johnstone vs Celtic
15:00 – 01 Mar 2020
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

St Johnstone vs Celtic Score Prediction

St Johnstone vs Celtic Match Info

Match date: 1st March 2020

Kick-Off: 3:00 pm

Stadium: McDiarmid Park, Perth

St Johnstone vs Celtic Head to Head Record

Last 3 meetings:

29/01/20 St Johnstone 0 – 3 Celtic
3/08/19 Celtic 7 – 0 St Johnstone
10/02/19 Celtic 5 – 0 St Johnstone

Matches played: 61

St Johnstone wins: 8

Celtic wins: 46

Draws: 7

St Johnstone vs Celtic Stats

  • St Johnstone sit just outside the top 6, five points and a game in hand to 6th placed Hibernian
  • Celtic top the league table with a 12-point gap to 2nd placed Rangers
  • Bhoys bagged wins in all of the sides’ seven head-to-head clashes over the past two years

St Johnstone vs Celtic Match Preview

Celtic have been dominant in Scotland lately but they saw a disappointing Europa League exit in hands of Copenhagen (4-2) on aggregate, where it felt we’re in for extra-time already when the visitors bagged two late goals and knocked them out of the competition at Celtic Park.

Bhoys bagged eight Premiership wins in 2020 already and knocked Partick Thistle (1-2) and Clyde (0-3) out of FA Cup along the way, which does promise a confident display once again – despite a great mid-week disappointment. They’ve been scoring goals on the regular as in-form Odsonne Edouard led the line and will now certainly want to impress at McDiarmid Park.

St Johnstone saw a comfortable 0-3 loss to Celtic in late January but managed to extend a six-match unbeaten streak since then. They bagged three wins and three draws along the way, including a thriller 2-2 draw against Rangers last week, and Tommy Wright’s men will want to be no sitting ducks now either.

Saints struggled defensively, though, and this has proven costly on more than one occasion. They conceded six goals in the last three home games too, beating Motherwell (2-1) but seeing Hearts (3-3) and Gers (2-2) snatch points. They’ll surely need more to cause an upset now and we don’t see them up to the task.

We will thus stick with Celtic to secure a ticket to the semi-finals here and we hope to see them turn an exciting game their way, as we go for an Away win and Over 2.5 Goals FT at 10/11 with Paddy Power – which looks like the best approach to the fixture.

We hope St Johnstone can make an impact this time around, though, and we’ll also go for a Yes on Both teams to score at 21/20 with bet365. We’ve seen them bag 12 goals in their last six home outings and we hope they can build on such a tally now as well.

St Johnstone vs Celtic Betting Tips

Celtic to win & Over 2.5 Goals FT @ 10/11 with Paddy Power

Both teams to score Yes @ 21/20 with bet365

 

MORE: Grab more weekend match previews with a click right here. Also, you can go for more of our BTTS tips here and find other exciting games we predict every single day.

St Johnstone vs Celtic Best Bet

Match Preview Background

Tottenham vs Wolves Preview

Espanyol vs Atletico Madrid Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    St Johnstone vs Celtic Preview

    St Johnstone vs Celtic Match Info Match date: 1st March 2020 Kick-Off: 3:00 pm Stadium: McDiarmid Park, Perth St Johnstone vs Celtic Head to Head Record Last 3 meetings: 29/01/20 St Johnstone 0 – 3 Celtic 3/08/19 Celtic 7 – 0 St Johnstone 10/02/19 Celtic 5 – 0 St Johnstone Matches played: 61 St Johnstone…