Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Preview

Jon Wilde 04 Dec 2019
  • Sheffield United vs Newcastle United predictions for their Premier League match on Thursday

  • We are backing Newcastle to avoid defeat at Bramall Lane

  • Join SpreadEx and get up to £300 cashback after 28 days

Sheffield United Home Shirt
Sheffield United
D
D
D
W
D
Premier League
19:30
05 Dec
v
Newcastle Home Shirt
Newcastle United
D
L
W
W
D
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £190 with Bet365

Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Match Info

Date: Thursday December 5 2019
Kick-off time: 7.30pm GMT
Venue: Bramall Lane
Referee: Stuart Attwell

Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Head-To-Head Record

Last 4 matches

April 5 2010: Newcastle United 2-1 Sheffield United
November 2 2009: Sheffield United 0-1 Newcastle United

April 7 2007: Sheffield United 1-2 Newcastle United
November 4 2006: Newcastle United 0-1 Sheffield United

Total head-to-head league matches played: 108
Sheffield United wins: 43
Newcastle United wins: 39
Draws: 26

Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Stats

  • Only one of the last 15 matches between these clubs has ended as a draw…
  • …but Sheffield United have drawn five of their latest seven games
  • Before Wednesday’s matches, Newcastle had conceded the most away goals in the Premier League this season

Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Match Preview

Sheffield United are unbeaten in their last seven Premier League matches, but we do not think they should be as short as odds-on to beat Newcastle.

The Blades are having a fantastic first season back in the top flight, which is only their second in 26 years, and they are looking much more like candidates for European football than relegation after cementing a place in the top half of the table.

However, Newcastle have been showing enough in the last couple of months to suggest they are decent value here to head back to Tyneside with at least a point.

The Magpies have lost only two of their last seven games, beating Manchester United and Bournemouth at home and West Ham away during that timeframe, while on Saturday they made the most of their limited opportunities to draw 2-2 with Manchester City.

Although big-money attacking signings Joelinton and Miguel Almiron are struggling to justify their lofty price tags, Allan Saint-Maximin looks capable of anything along the performance spectrum and Jonjo Shelvey will have gained confidence from his superb equaliser against City.

We can see there being goals at both ends in this match and while keeping the draw on our side also appeals, Newcastle may just be capable of snatching all three points.

MORE: Get the very latest Premier League tips for the next round of matches on our Premier League predictions page. Plus, if you want today’s strongest football tip, visit our Bet of the Day page. We have lots more free football tips across the rest of our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Betting Tips

Newcastle United/Draw double chance @ Evens with SpreadEx
Newcastle United to win @ 4/1 with BetVictor

Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £20 with Spreadex

Fulham vs Bristol City Preview

Hull vs Stoke Preview

Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Preview

    Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Match Info Date: Thursday December 5 2019 Kick-off time: 7.30pm GMT Venue: Bramall Lane Referee: Stuart Attwell Sheffield United vs Newcastle United Head-To-Head Record Last 4 matches April 5 2010: Newcastle United 2-1 Sheffield United November 2 2009: Sheffield United 0-1 Newcastle United April 7 2007: Sheffield United 1-2 Newcastle…