Russia vs Belgium Preview

Jon Wilde 12 Nov 2019
  • Russia vs Belgium predictions for their Euro 2020 qualifier on Saturday

  • We are backing Belgium to maintain their 100% record in Group I

  • Join bet365 and get up to £100 in bet credits

Eden Hazard (left) on the ball for Belgium (PA Images)

Russia vs Belgium Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £90 with Bet365

Russia vs Belgium Match Info

Date: Saturday November 16 2019
Kick-off time: 5.00pm GMT
Venue: Krestovsky Stadium, St Petersburg

Russia vs Belgium Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches

March 21 2019: Belgium 3-1 Russia
March 28 2017: Russia 3-3 Belgium
June 22 2014 (World Cup): Belgium 1-0 Russia

Total head-to-head matches played: 6
Russia wins: 0
Belgium wins: 4
Draws: 2

Russia vs Belgium Stats

  • This is the first time Russia have hosted Belgium in a competitive match
  • Belgium have won five of the last six meetings between these countries
  • Belgium have also won all eight games they have played in 2019, seven of them to nil

Russia vs Belgium Match Preview

These countries have both qualified for Euro 2020 and for Belgium, this match is all about whether they can maintain their 100% record in Group I.

FIFA’s No 1-ranked team in the world, Belgium have shown exactly why that is with a perfect campaign so far in which the only goal they have conceded in eight straight wins was to Russia’s Denis Cheryshev, when the Red Devils prevailed 3-1.

Roberto Martinez’s side have to be among the leading candidates to finally lift a first major trophy next summer, although you also wonder whether their ‘golden generation’ is now approaching the end of its cycle and the supply line of emerging new talent may be drying up.

Belgium are without injured defenders Jan Vertonghen and Thomas Meunier here, but Martinez has named a large squad of 29 for this international session and may experiment somewhat in the concluding group match at home to Cyprus on Tuesday.

Russia have also been impressive, winning their other seven games apart from the loss in Brussels, and have sustained the promise they showed when putting up a spirited run to the quarter-finals in the World Cup they hosted last summer.

This contest will be all about who has the more hunger to maintain their winning sequence with nothing of major importance riding on it and we have to side with Belgium, given how dominant they have been since their only post-World Cup defeat against Switzerland.

MORE: Looking for other Euro 2020 predictions? See our Euro 2020 betting tips section, packed with insight from our expert tipsters. Plus, if you want today’s strongest football tip, visit our Bet of the Day page. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Russia vs Belgium Betting Tips

Belgium to win @ 21/20 with bet365
Over 2.5 goals @ 5/6 with BetVictor

Russia vs Belgium Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £20 with Bet365

Azerbaijan vs Wales Preview

Germany vs Belarus Preview

Share this with your friends

    Russia vs Belgium Preview

    Russia vs Belgium Match Info Date: Saturday November 16 2019 Kick-off time: 5.00pm GMT Venue: Krestovsky Stadium, St Petersburg Russia vs Belgium Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches March 21 2019: Belgium 3-1 Russia March 28 2017: Russia 3-3 Belgium June 22 2014 (World Cup): Belgium 1-0 Russia Total head-to-head matches played: 6 Russia wins: 0…