Reims vs Lyon Preview

Vedran Ostojic 18 Dec 2019
  • Reims haven’t seen a loss since early November and their trip to Nice (2-0)

  • Can they build on a six-match unbeaten streak as they host Lyon?

  • Register with William Hill here & bet £10 to get £30 in free bets!

Ligue 1
Reims vs Lyon
19:45 – 21 Dec 2019
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Reims vs Lyon Score Prediction

Reims vs Lyon Match Info

Match date: 21st December 2019

Kick-Off: 7:45 pm

Stadium: Auguste-Delaune II Stadium, Reims

Reims vs Lyon Head to Head Record

Last 3 meetings:

11 Jan 2019 Lyon 1 – 1 Reims
17 Aug 2018 Reims 1 – 0 Lyon
14 May 2016 Reims 4 – 1 Lyon

Matches played: 11

Reims wins: 4

Lyon wins: 6

Draws: 1

Reims vs Lyon Stats

  • Reims beat Montpellier (1-0) on Tuesday and connected their third win in a row
  • Lyon come into the busy week with a disappointing 0-1 loss to Rennes behind them
  • Les Gones haven’t seen a win over Reims since October 2015 and suffered losses on both of their last two trips to this ground

Reims vs Lyon Match Preview

Lyon travel to Reims just days after hosting Toulouse for their League Cup clash midway through the week as the busy schedule continues and Rudi Garcia’s men have to find a quick fix after a disappointing 0-1 loss to Rennes now behind them, where they failed to build on high team spirits after making it to the Champions League knockout stages with a 2-2 home draw against RB Leipzig.

Les Gones have been scoring goals on the road and will have high hopes they can build on such records here, having beaten Strasbourg (1-2) and Nimes (0-4) on two trips since early December. We now expect them very motivated to bounce and keep up with the top 3, desperate to close the six-point gap to 3rd placed Lille.

Reims have plans of their own, though, and they sit two points clear of Lyon with a game in hand. They proved themselves a very tough nut to crack and their mid-week win over Montpellier (1-0) in League Cup was their third in a row – after also beating St Etienne (3-1) at this ground and Toulouse (0-1) on the road in two December outings.

Red and Whites saw just one loss in their last 11 outings across competitions and we’ve seen them show off in some very tough games along the way, including a 0-2 win at PSG, a 1-1 draw against Bordeaux, a goalless draw against Monaco and more. David Guion’s outfit feel like a dark horse in the chase for the top 4 spot early in the campaign and they’ll certainly want to build on the impression.

We do expect them to show off and we feel they should have what it takes to capitalize on Lyon’s recent hiccups, as we go for a Double Chance – Reims to win or Draw at 1/2 with bet365 – which has caught the eye of heavy hitters already.

We feel we should be in for a narrow occasion and a lot could depend on their ability to keep it together at the back once again. With that in mind, we hope not to see many goals at Auguste-Delaune II Stadium and we’ll go for Under 2.5 Goals FT at 8/13 with William Hill.

Reims vs Lyon Betting Tips

Reims to win or Draw @ 1/2 with bet365

Under 2.5 Goals FT @ 8/13 with William Hill

 

MORE: Grab more Ligue 1 predictions and in-depth match previews here! Alternatively, go for more low-scoring games in the making with our Under 2.5 tips right here.

Reims vs Lyon Best Bet

Match Preview Background

PSG vs Amiens Preview

Mallorca vs Sevilla Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Reims vs Lyon Preview

    Reims vs Lyon Match Info Match date: 21st December 2019 Kick-Off: 7:45 pm Stadium: Auguste-Delaune II Stadium, Reims Reims vs Lyon Head to Head Record Last 3 meetings: 11 Jan 2019 Lyon 1 – 1 Reims 17 Aug 2018 Reims 1 – 0 Lyon 14 May 2016 Reims 4 – 1 Lyon Matches played: 11…