Rangers vs Celtic Preview

Jon Wilde 06 Dec 2019
  • Rangers vs Celtic predictions for the Scottish League Cup Final on Sunday

  • We are backing Celtic to lift the trophy for a fourth consecutive season

  • Join BetVictor and bet £5 to get £30 in free bets

Scottish League Cup
Rangers vs Celtic
15:00 – 08 Dec 2019
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Rangers vs Celtic Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £130 with BetVictor

Rangers vs Celtic Match Info

Date: Sunday December 8 2019
Kick-off time: 3.00pm GMT
Venue: Hampden Park, Glasgow
Referee: William Collum

Rangers vs Celtic Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches

September 1 2019: Rangers 0-2 Celtic

May 12 2019: Rangers 2-0 Celtic
March 31 2019: Celtic 2-1 Rangers

Total head-to-head matches played (all competitions): 417
Rangers wins: 161
Celtic wins: 157
Draws: 99

Rangers vs Celtic Stats

  • This is the 15th time the Old Firm rivals have met in the Scottish League Cup Final, Rangers having prevailed in nine and Celtic five
  • In the competition as a whole, this will be their 50th match with Celtic having won 22 times in 90 minutes and Rangers on 17 occasions with 10 draws
  • Rangers have not won any of the last six of those games in 90 minutes

Rangers vs Celtic Match Preview

Rangers have their first chance to end Celtic’s quest for a quadruple Treble this weekend – but we think they will fall short of wresting the League Cup from their arch-rivals.

Old Firm combat is back to its brilliant best after being ravaged by Rangers’ financial meltdown in 2012 and the Ibrox club are now again a major threat to their Glasgow foes’ recent domination of Scottish football, having the opportunity to win any piece of domestic silverware this term.

But although Steven Gerrard’s side have improved rapidly over the last 12 months or so, they still appear a shade behind Celtic – and not only in the Scottish Premiership table, where they have dropped two points off the pace after drawing away to Aberdeen in midweek.

This will be the second Old Firm clash of the season and the Hoops won the first 2-0 at Ibrox, reasserting that they are still the team to beat north of the border after winning all of the trophies available to them in each of the previous three campaigns.

The one concern for Celtic here is that they have not been quite as effective away from Parkhead this term, especially defensively, but then the same could be said of Rangers with only two clean sheets in the last eight games on their travels – which admittedly includes three in a tough Europa League group.

Celtic are on a winning streak of 11 consecutive matches and although they made hard work of beating Hamilton at home on Wednesday, they are fancied to hoist the League Cup for a fourth consecutive year.

MORE: Visit our Scottish Premiership predictions page for the latest bets and tipping advice on the 2019-20 competition provided for free by our expert tipsters. Plus, if you are planning a Correct Score bet, check out the latest selections on our Correct Score predictions page. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Rangers vs Celtic Betting Tips

Celtic to win @ 5/4 with BetVictor
Both teams to score? NO @ 5/4 with BetVictor

Rangers vs Celtic Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £22 with BetVictor

Match Preview Background

Bayer Leverkusen vs Schalke Preview

Lecce vs Genoa Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Rangers vs Celtic Preview

    Rangers vs Celtic Match Info Date: Sunday December 8 2019 Kick-off time: 3.00pm GMT Venue: Hampden Park, Glasgow Referee: William Collum Rangers vs Celtic Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches September 1 2019: Rangers 0-2 Celtic May 12 2019: Rangers 2-0 Celtic March 31 2019: Celtic 2-1 Rangers Total head-to-head matches played (all competitions): 417 Rangers…