Newcastle vs Sheffield United Preview

Vedran Ostojic 12 Mar 2020
  • Sheffield United sit just five points behind the top 4 with a game in hand

  • Can they close the gap with points at St James’?

  • Register with William Hill here & bet £10 to get £30 in free bets!

Newcastle Home Shirt
Newcastle
W
W
D
L
L
Premier League
15:00
14 Mar
v
Sheffield United Home Shirt
Sheffield United
W
W
D
W
W
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Newcastle vs Sheffield United Score Prediction

Newcastle vs Sheffield United Match Info

Match date: 14th March 2020

Kick-Off: 3:00 pm

Stadium: St James’ Park, Newcastle upon Tyne

Newcastle vs Sheffield United Head to Head Record

Last 3 meetings:

5 Dec 2019 Sheffield United 0 – 2 Newcastle
26 Jul 2015 Sheffield United 2 – 2 Newcastle
5 Apr 2010 Newcastle 2 – 1 Sheffield United

Matches played: 90

Newcastle wins: 34

Sheffield United wins: 34

Draws: 22

Newcastle vs Sheffield United Stats

  • Sheffield United bagged five wins and a draw in their last six outings across competitions
  • Newcastle beat West Brom (2-3) and Southampton (0-1) in their respective last two
  • Magpies’ 0-2 win at Bramall Lane in December was the sides’ first competitive head-to-head clash since 2010

Newcastle vs Sheffield United Match Preview

Sheffield United travel to Newcastle for their Matchday 30 clash on Saturday in a great mood after turning two very narrow clashes their way and beating Reading (1-2 in FA Cup) and Norwich (1-0 in Premier League) last week. They saw a home loss to Magpies back in December and we expect Chris Wilder’s men very motivated to take revenge.

Blades sit just five points behind 4th placed Chelsea with a game in hand but have a lot to prove if they’re to make it happen, with a tough schedule and clashes against Man United, Tottenham, Wolves, Chelsea, and Leicester still ahead. Grabbing points at St James thus feels all the more important and we do see them snatching the spoils.

Newcastle beat West Brom (2-3) in a five-goal FA Cup thriller and edged past Southampton (0-1) with a single goal from Saint-Maximin last week, which will have them looking to build on the performances as well. They ended a streak of five Premier League games without a win at St Mary’s but more importantly, Steve Bruce’s men finally found the net.

Magpies haven’t scored a league goal since January beforehand and rediscovering their form up front could prove crucial in their attempts not to drop into the danger zone. They conceded no goals in their last four home outings either, though, and we feel this points towards a tight contest on the day as well.

We will back Sheffield United to capitalize on their fine form of recent and turn it their way, though, as we go for an Away win at 13/10 with bet365. They’ve been very tough to deny and we don’t see Newcastle up to the task.

We should be in for a very tough defensive display on both ends and slim margins could make all the difference. With that in mind, we’re going for few goals and backing Under 2.5 Goals FT at 8/15 with William Hill as well.

Newcastle vs Sheffield United Betting Tips

Sheffield United to win @ 13/10 with bet365

Under 2.5 Goals FT @ 8/15 with William Hill

 

MORE: You can find all of our Premier League predictions in one place here. Also, you can go for more low-scoring games in the making across competitions with our Under 2.5 tips right here!

Newcastle vs Sheffield United Best Bet

Match Preview Background

Man City vs Burnley Preview

Norwich vs Southampton Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Newcastle vs Sheffield United Preview

    Newcastle vs Sheffield United Match Info Match date: 14th March 2020 Kick-Off: 3:00 pm Stadium: St James’ Park, Newcastle upon Tyne Newcastle vs Sheffield United Head to Head Record Last 3 meetings: 5 Dec 2019 Sheffield United 0 – 2 Newcastle 26 Jul 2015 Sheffield United 2 – 2 Newcastle 5 Apr 2010 Newcastle 2…