MK Dons vs Portsmouth Preview

Vedran Ostojic 26 Dec 2019
  • Portsmouth shocked Wycombe (2-0) on Thursday and sit just two points behind the top 6

  • Can they challenge for a Play-offs spot late in 2019?

  • Register with William Hill here & bet £10 to get £30 in free bets!

League 1
MK Dons vs Portsmouth
15:00 – 29 Dec 2019
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

MK Dons vs Portsmouth Score Prediction

MK Dons vs Portsmouth Match Info

Match date: 29th December 2019

Kick-Off: 3:00 pm

Stadium: Stadium MK, Milton Keynes

MK Dons vs Portsmouth Head to Head Record

Last 3 meetings:

10 Feb 2018 MK Dons 1 – 2 Portsmouth
14 Oct 2017 Portsmouth 2 – 0 MK Dons
26 Feb 2013 Portsmouth 1 – 1 MK Dons

Matches played: 4

MK Dons wins: 0

Portsmouth wins: 2

Draws: 2

MK Dons vs Portsmouth Stats

  • MK Dons were held to a thriller 2-2 draw at Southend on Boxing Day and still sit in the relegation zone
  • Portsmouth earned 16 points in their last seven League One outings
  • Pompey beat MK Dons twice as the sides last met in 2017/18 campaign

MK Dons vs Portsmouth Match Preview

Portsmouth beat Ipswich (1-0) and Wycombe (2-0) in their last two outings and now travel to Milton Keynes for their Matchday 24 clash in a great mood, bouncing from a disappointing trip to Accrington (4-1) and now sitting just two points behind the League One top 6.

Pompey have been in great form up front and they’ll now be looking to build on such records, bagging 25 goals in their last ten outings and seeing just one loss along the way. They’ve been led by in-form Ronan Curtis, who bagged seven goals in his last eight appearances, and we now expect them in great shape once again.

MK Dons have been held off by similarly struggling Southend (2-2) on Boxing Day and failed to bounce from a 3-1 loss at Gillingham seen last week. They have been tougher to beat at Stadium MK but still sit in the relegation zone after 21 games played, which will worrying for Russel Martin who has been able to make an impact but still has a long way to go.

Dons beat Coventry (2-0) and Oxford (1-0) in their last two outings at this ground and we’ve seen them tough to break down on those two occasions, as Lee Nicholls kept two clean sheets. Still, they’ll need more of the same to escape the red zone and we don’t feel they have what it takes at this point.

We will thus go for the in-form visitors to snatch all three points and build on their performances of recent, backing Portsmouth to win at 20/23 with BetVictor despite a tough challenge in Milton Keynes looming.

We do expect a very narrow occasion but we hope to see goals on both ends as we go for Over 2.5 Goals FT at 9/10 with bet365. We’ve seen three or more goals in all of Portsmouth’s last four trips and we now hope for an in-form attacking line to prove what they’re made of once again.

MK Dons vs Portsmouth Betting Tips

Portsmouth to win @ 20/23 with BetVictor

Over 2.5 Goals FT @ 9/10 with bet365

 

MORE: Find all of our League One predictions and match previews here. Alternatively, go for more high-scoring games we predict every day with Over 2.5 tips right here!

MK Dons vs Portsmouth Best Bet

Match Preview Background

Man City vs Sheffield United Preview

Rizespor vs Fenerbahce Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    MK Dons vs Portsmouth Preview

    MK Dons vs Portsmouth Match Info Match date: 29th December 2019 Kick-Off: 3:00 pm Stadium: Stadium MK, Milton Keynes MK Dons vs Portsmouth Head to Head Record Last 3 meetings: 10 Feb 2018 MK Dons 1 – 2 Portsmouth 14 Oct 2017 Portsmouth 2 – 0 MK Dons 26 Feb 2013 Portsmouth 1 – 1…