Mainz vs Schalke Preview

Jon Wilde 14 Feb 2020
  • Mainz vs Schalke predictions for their Bundesliga match on Sunday

  • We are backing Schalke to win at the Opel Arena

  • Join Unibet and bet £10 to get £40 in free bets

Mainz
W
L
L
L
L
Bundesliga
17:00
16 Feb
v
Schalke
D
D
D
L
W
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Mainz vs Schalke Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £105 with BetVictor

Mainz vs Schalke Match Info

Date: Sunday February 16 2020
Kick-off time: 5.00pm GMT
Venue: Opel Arena

Mainz vs Schalke Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches (all league games)

September 20 2019: Schalke 2-1 Mainz

February 23 2019: Mainz 3-0 Schalke
September 29 2018: Schalke 1-0 Mainz

Total head-to-head league Bundesliga matches played: 27
Mainz wins: 6
Schalke wins: 17
Draws: 4

Mainz vs Schalke Stats

  • Schalke have won six of their last seven matches against Mainz
  • A clean sheet was kept in six of those games (not all the same ones)
  • None of the latest 11 meetings between these clubs has ended as a draw

Mainz vs Schalke Match Preview

Schalke have been drawing too many games recently for their liking whereas Mainz have not shared the spoils all season, so something has to give at the Opel Arena on Sunday.

The bookmakers have got Schalke as favourites in a close betting market and we concur, and not only because of the fact the Royal Blues have a terrific head-to-head record against these opponents in the last few years (see stats above).

Still well in the running for a return to European football next term after struggling in the Bundesliga last season, Schalke have become difficult to beat under former Huddersfield Town manager David Wagner but would be in an even stronger position had they turned some of their one-point hauls into three.

Last weekend was a prime example. The Gelsenkirchen club hosted bottom-of-the-table Paderborn and were on course for victory until they conceded an equaliser nine minutes from the end.

But a look at Mainz’s record suggests a draw can be overlooked here. In their last 38 league games the 05ers have emerged with honours even only once and the fact they have won just seven out of 21 in this campaign is why they are not far ahead of the relegation battle.

Indeed, Achim Beierlorzer’s side have won more games on the road than at home and so Schalke look a good bet here for a narrow success that would keep the Bundesliga front-runners within their sights.

MORE: Looking for predictions on other German matches? See our Bundesliga betting tips section, packed with insight from our expert tipsters. Plus, if you are planning an acca bet, check out the latest selections on our Football Accumulator tips page. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Mainz vs Schalke Betting Tips

Schalke to win @ 6/4 with Unibet
Under 2.5 goals @ 11/10 with Unibet

Mainz vs Schalke Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £25 with Unibet

Preston vs Millwall Preview

Juventus vs Brescia Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Mainz vs Schalke Preview

    Mainz vs Schalke Match Info Date: Sunday February 16 2020 Kick-off time: 5.00pm GMT Venue: Opel Arena Mainz vs Schalke Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches (all league games) September 20 2019: Schalke 2-1 Mainz February 23 2019: Mainz 3-0 Schalke September 29 2018: Schalke 1-0 Mainz Total head-to-head league Bundesliga matches played: 27 Mainz wins:…