Lyon vs Rennes Predictions

Vedran Ostojic 01 Apr 2019
  • The rivals meet for the second time in just days

  • Can Lyon build on the success and make their way to the Cup Final?

  • Register with William Hill here & bet £10 to get £30 in free bets!

Lyon vs Rennes Match Prediction

Lyon vs Rennes Match Info

Match date: 2ndApril 2019

Kick-Off: 8.10pm GMT

Stadium: Groupama Stadium, Decines-Charpieu.

Lyon vs Rennes Head to Head Record

Last 3 meetings:

29 Mar 2019 Rennes 0 – 1 Lyon
5 Dec 2018 Lyon 0 – 2 Rennes
11 Feb 2018 0 – 2 Rennes

Matches played: 50

Lyon wins: 22

Rennes wins: 12

Draws: 16

Lyon vs Rennes Stats

  • Lyon come into the match on the back of a two-match winning streak
  • Rennes struggled with a tough schedule lately with two losses and a draw on the records
  • Les Gones bagged a 0-1 win at Roazhon Park just days ago, taking revenge for a similar home loss to the rivals with a single goal from Martin Terrier

Lyon vs Rennes Match Preview

Lyon host Rennes for their Coupe de France semi-finals clash on Tuesday evening, just days after beating the rivals on their Ligue 1 trip to Roazhon Park where a very late winner from Martin Terrier untangled a narrow contest (0-1).

Les Gones have thus built on a two-match winning streak after also beating Montpellier (3-2) in a more thrilling contest in front of the home fans, which had them bounce back after a troubled trip to Barcelona and crashing out of Champions League. They’ve been scoring (and conceding) numbers of goals at Groupama Stadium lately and we now hope for a more exciting clash.

Rennes have seen a Europa League exit of their own as Arsenal (3-0) outclassed them in London and only bounced back with a 1-1 draw at Bordeaux, ahead of the already mentioned loss to Lyon. Julien Stephan will now want more in the final third and we feel his men will be very motivated to impress with a spot in the final under their noses.

Red and Blacks have shocked the crowd here twice in 2018, including a 0-2 Ligue 1 win earlier this term, and they will now want to replicate such a display on the day. We thus expect a thrilling challenge and Lyon could have troubles untangling this one, unlike the popular opinion at this point.

We will thus stick our necks out for Rennes to hold off the tough rivals and send this one into extra-time, where a Draw looks more than a lively longshot at 7/2 with bet365. The visitors enjoy their trips here lately and we now hope they can show it once again.

However, they should be forced into an exciting game and cope in the final third to do so, as we go for a Yes on Both teams to score at 8/11 with bet365. We have seen both sides scoring and conceding goals regularly and this feels like more of a banker bet.

MORE: Find all of our in-depth match previews here. You can also get other exciting games and Both teams to score tips in one place right here!

Lyon vs Rennes Betting Tips

Cagliari vs Juventus Predictions

Oldham vs Tranmere Predictions

Share this with your friends

    Lyon vs Rennes Predictions

    Lyon vs Rennes Match Info Match date: 2ndApril 2019 Kick-Off: 8.10pm GMT Stadium: Groupama Stadium, Decines-Charpieu. Lyon vs Rennes Head to Head Record Last 3 meetings: 29 Mar 2019 Rennes 0 – 1 Lyon 5 Dec 2018 Lyon 0 – 2 Rennes 11 Feb 2018 0 – 2 Rennes Matches played: 50 Lyon wins: 22…