Lyon vs Rennes Preview

Vedran Ostojic 13 Dec 2019
  • Lyon want to challenge the top 4 with important home points on Sunday

  • Do they have what it takes to beat in-form Rennes?

  • Register with William Hill here & bet £10 to get £30 in free bets!

Ligue 1
Lyon vs Rennes
16:00 – 15 Dec 2019
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Lyon vs Rennes Score Prediction

Lyon vs Rennes Match Info

Match date: 15th December 2019

Kick-Off: 4:00 pm

Stadium: Groupama Stadium, Decines-Charpieu

Lyon vs Rennes Head to Head Record

Last 3 meetings:

2 Apr 2019 Lyon 2 – 3 Rennes
29 Mar 2019 Rennes 0 – 1 Lyon
5 Dec 2018 Lyon 0 – 2 Rennes

Matches played: 51

Lyon wins: 22

Rennes wins: 13

Draws: 16

Lyon vs Rennes Stats

  • Rennes beat Lazio (2-0) on Thursday and extended a four-match winning streak
  • Lyon secured a top two spot in Champions League Group G with a 2-2 draw against Leipzig midway through the week
  • Les Gonnes suffered losses in all of their last three clashes against Rennes at this ground

Lyon vs Rennes Match Preview

Lyon bounce from being 0-2 down and earned their top 2 spot in Champions League Group G as Houssem Aouar and Memphis Depay completed the second-half comeback, now hosting Rennes on the back of a 2-2 draw against RB Leipzig and looking to build on it.

Rudi Garcia’s men bagged a convincing 0-4 win at Nimes and will now surely be taking confidence from it, despite more of a challenge expected on Sunday. They’ve been very tough to beat at Groupama Arena and we now hope to see more of the same. They bagged two or more goals in four of the last five clashes at this ground and this could mean trouble for in-form visitors now as well.

Rennes travel to Decines-Charpieu on the back of a 2-0 home win over Lazio, which still saw them rock-bottomed in Europa League Group E but confirmed their fine form of recent. They bagged four consecutive wins in December and building on the streak will be crucial as they attempt to keep hold of a top 4 spot in Ligue 1.

Red and Blacks have beaten St Etienne (2-1), Metz (0-1), and Angers (2-1) along the way, scoring seven goals in four outings and conceding just two. They will now hope to build on the performances and cause an upset, but we feel getting it will be no easy task for Julien Stephan and his men.

We will now stick with Lyon to bag all three points and build on great team spirits we’ve seen lately, as we go for a Home win which seems like a generous banker bet at 7/10 with VirginBet despite the visitors boasting a rock-solid streak of their own.

Still, we do see Rennes making an impact here and we’re hoping to see goals on both ends as we back a Yes on Both teams to score at 4/5 with William Hill. Lyon have hardly felt solid at the back and could have to outgun the rivals to secure the points again.

Lyon vs Rennes Betting Tips

Lyon to win @ 7/10 with VirginBet

Both teams to score Yes @ 4/5 with William Hill

 

MORE: You can get more Ligue 1 predictions we make right here! Also, you can go for more exciting games across competitions with our BTTS tips here.

Lyon vs Rennes Best Bet

Match Preview Background

Celtic vs Hibernian Preview

St Etienne vs PSG Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

Match Preview Background

Lyon vs Rennes Preview

Lyon vs Rennes Match Info Match date: 15th December 2019 Kick-Off: 4:00 pm Stadium: Groupama Stadium, Decines-Charpieu Lyon vs Rennes Head to Head Record Last 3 meetings: 2 Apr 2019 Lyon 2 – 3 Rennes 29 Mar 2019 Rennes 0 – 1 Lyon 5 Dec 2018 Lyon 0 – 2 Rennes Matches played: 51 Lyon…

Today's Best Offers

  • Price Boosts
  • Stats Centre
  • Great Welcome Offer
  • £10 Free Each Week
  • Premier League Specials
  • No.1 Betting Exchange
  • £25 In Free Bets
  • In-Play Football Odds
  • Daily Price Boosts