Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Preview

Vedran Ostojic 03 Jan 2020
  • Chelsea have struggled for consistency and saw losses to Bournemouth (0-1) and Southampton (0-2) in their last two outings at Stamford Bridge

  • Can they outclass the Championship rivals on Sunday?

  • You can watch and bet on this match live at bet365 -> soccer -> live streaming.

FA Cup
Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest
14:01 – 05 Jan 2020
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Score Prediction

Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Match Info

Match date: 5th January 2020

Kick-Off: 2:01 pm

Stadium: Stamford Bridge, London

Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Head to Head Record

Last 3 meetings:

5 Jan 2019 Chelsea 2 – 0 Nottingham Forest
20 Sep 2017 Chelsea 5 – 1 Nottingham Forest
28 Jan 2007 Chelsea 3 – 0 Nottingham Forest

Matches played: 69

Chelsea wins: 27

Nottingham Forest wins: 21

Draws: 21

Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Stats

  • Chelsea come into the match after seeing struggles to convert costly at Brighton (1-1)
  • Nottingham beat Hull (0-2), Wigan (1-0), and Blackburn (3-2) in their last three outings
  • Blues bagged wins in all of the sides’ last five head-to-head clashes since 1998

Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Match Preview

Chelsea host Nottingham Forest for their FA Cup clash with fans fearing no consistency despite a top 4 spot and a comfortable five-point gap behind them, hoping they can put a disappointing 1-1 draw at Brighton behind them and outclass the Championship rivals on Sunday afternoon.

Indeed, Blues have seen their struggles to convert prove costly once again as Alireza Jahanbakhsh found a stunning equalizer late in the game, failing to connect two wins in a row since October. They beat Arsenal (1-2) and Tottenham (0-2) on the road in their last five outings but saw Bournemouth (0-1) and Southampton (0-2) snatch the points at Stamford Bridge, which spells worry for Frank Lampard.

They’ll now be desperate to retain consistency and do have a somewhat more lenient schedule to follow but Nottingham Forest will prove no sitting ducks we feel. The visitors come into the match on the back of a three-match winning streak and boast great team spirits, sitting nine points behind 2nd placed West Brom with a game in hand.

Tricky Trees beat Hull (0-2), Wigan (1-0), and Blackburn (3-2) since Boxing Day and prove themselves a tough side to outgun on the regular. They have been far from convincing when away from home, though, and Sabri Lamouchi has to work on their stability at the back if his men are to keep it up.

We don’t see them causing an upset in London but we expect a great challenge and we’ll now stick our necks out for Chelsea to bag a narrow win, going for just a one-goal Winning Margin and backing it at 16/5 with Paddy Power.

We feel this comes as a lively longshot but Tricky Trees will have to cope in the final third if they’re to make it happen for us. With that in mind, we hope to see goals and we’re going for a Yes on Both teams to score too, which comes at 10/11 with bet365.

Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Betting Tips

WM – Chelsea to win by 1 Goal @ 16/5 with Paddy Power

Both teams to score Yes @ 10/11 with bet365

 

MORE: Find all of our FA Cup predictions with a click right here! Alternatively, if you’re short on time, you can grab our bet of the day and get the best of today’s betting here.

Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Best Bet

Match Preview Background

Charlton vs West Brom Preview

Crystal Palace vs Derby Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Preview

    Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Match Info Match date: 5th January 2020 Kick-Off: 2:01 pm Stadium: Stamford Bridge, London Chelsea vs Nottingham Forest Head to Head Record Last 3 meetings: 5 Jan 2019 Chelsea 2 – 0 Nottingham Forest 20 Sep 2017 Chelsea 5 – 1 Nottingham Forest 28 Jan 2007 Chelsea 3 – 0 Nottingham…