Azerbaijan vs Wales Preview

Jon Wilde 12 Nov 2019
  • Azerbaijan vs Wales predictions for their Euro 2020 qualifier on Saturday

  • We are backing Wales to win narrowly in Baku

  • Join bet365 and get up to £100 in bet credits

Gareth Bale takes a free-kick for Wales (PA Images)

Azerbaijan vs Wales Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £55 with Bet365

Azerbaijan vs Wales Match Info

Date: Saturday November 16 2019
Kick-off time: 5.00pm GMT
Venue: Bakcell Arena, Baku

Azerbaijan vs Wales Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches

September 6 2019: Wales 2-1 Azerbaijan

June 6 2009: Azerbaijan 0-1 Wales
September 6 2008: Wales 1-0 Azerbaijan

Total head-to-head matches played: 7
Azerbaijan wins: 0
Wales wins: 6
Draws: 1

Azerbaijan vs Wales Stats

  • Wales have won twice and drawn once on their three previous visits to Azerbaijan
  • Under 2.5 goals were scored in all three of those matches
  • Five of Wales’ six victories against Azerbaijan were to nil

Azerbaijan vs Wales Match Preview

Wales know that only two victories in their final qualifiers will give them any chance of reaching Euro 2020 automatically – and even then it may not be enough.

Four of the five countries in Group E are still in the mix to finish in the all-important top two and secure places at next summer’s tournament, with Croatia and Hungary currently holding sway. Croatia will be through if they avoid defeat at home to Slovakia on Saturday.

So, essentially, it looks like one out of Hungary, Slovakia and Wales. The bookmakers slightly fancy the chances of Slovakia, who finish at home to Azerbaijan on Tuesday, rather than Wales gaining a crucial six points from their games in Baku and at home to Hungary.

In terms of the play-offs, if they do not make it by right, Wales should be among the participants in the Group B division, but they still need to hope that at least one of the teams above them in the seeding ranking qualifies automatically in order to free up a place.

As you can tell, it’s still very much up in the air for Ryan Giggs’ side, but they are fancied to emulate their victory over Azerbaijan at home in September when Gareth Bale scored a hugely important late winner.

Azerbaijan surprisingly held Croatia to a home draw in September, but that is the only point they have collected in this group and with Bale ready to shake off the calf injury that has ruled him out of Real Madrid duty recently to play here, Wales are backed to win narrowly.

MORE: Looking for other Euro 2020 predictions? See our Euro 2020 betting tips section, packed with insight from our expert tipsters. Also, planning a goalscorer bet? Visit our Anytime Goalscorer tips page to find our latest selection. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Azerbaijan vs Wales Betting Tips

Wales to win to nil @ 6/5 with bet365
Wales to win and under 3.5 goals in the match @ 10/11 with bet365

Azerbaijan vs Wales Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £22 with Bet365

Cyprus vs Scotland Preview

Russia vs Belgium Preview

Share this with your friends

    Azerbaijan vs Wales Preview

    Azerbaijan vs Wales Match Info Date: Saturday November 16 2019 Kick-off time: 5.00pm GMT Venue: Bakcell Arena, Baku Azerbaijan vs Wales Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches September 6 2019: Wales 2-1 Azerbaijan June 6 2009: Azerbaijan 0-1 Wales September 6 2008: Wales 1-0 Azerbaijan Total head-to-head matches played: 7 Azerbaijan wins: 0 Wales wins: 6…