Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Preview

Jon Wilde 14 Feb 2020
  • Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna predictions for their La Liga match on Sunday

  • We are backing Athletic Bilbao to win at San Mames

  • Join William Hill and bet £10 to get £30 in free bets

Athletic Bilbao
W
L
W
L
D
La Liga
17:30
16 Feb
v
Osasuna
L
L
L
W
D
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £100 with BetVictor

Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Match Info

Date: Sunday February 16 2020
Kick-off time: 5.30pm GMT
Venue: San Mames
Referee: Pablo Gonzalez Fuertes

Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches (all league games)

November 24 2019: Osasuna 1-2 Athletic Bilbao

April 1 2017: Osasuna 1-2 Athletic Bilbao
October 30 2016: Athletic Bilbao 1-1 Osasuna

Total head-to-head league matches played since 1993-94: 33
Athletic Bilbao wins: 16
Osasuna wins: 8
Draws: 9

Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Stats

  • Athletic Bilbao have won nine of their last 11 matches against Osasuna
  • Osasuna have not won any of their latest nine away games against Athletic Bilbao
  • Athletic Bilbao have the joint best home defensive record in La Liga Primera Division this season

Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Match Preview

Athletic Bilbao’s main focus now this season has to be the Copa del Rey, for which they can keep their momentum bubbling by beating Osasuna in La Liga on Sunday.

It could be said that the King’s Cup competition in Spain this term has fallen apart with none of Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Valencia and Sevilla having made it through to the semi-finals. That leaves the four remaining teams with a great chance of clinching Champions League football for 2020-21 by lifting the trophy.

At present, the final looks like being a Basque derby between Athletic Bilbao and Real Sociedad, both of whom will take one-goal leads into the second leg of their semi-final ties away from home against Granada and second-tier Mirandes respectively.

But that is the best part of three weeks away and so Athletic Club, as they like to be known, must first try to boost their slim chances of qualifying for Europe via the league – it’s not an impossible task but, in ninth position in the table entering the weekend, they have plenty of ground to make up.

However, Gaizka Garitano’s side are at their best when playing at the San Mames, where they have a terrific defensive record this term, while Osasuna have lost their last three games.

The Pamplona club have been defeated either 3-1 or 4-1 in each of those matches, so there could be a goal for them here, but ultimately Athletic Bilbao are expected to be too strong.

MORE: Want predictions for other Spanish football matches? See our La Liga betting tips section, packed with insight from our expert tipsters. Also, planning a goalscorer bet? Visit our Anytime Goalscorer tips page to find our latest selection. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Betting Tips

Athletic Bilbao to win @ 21/20 with William Hill
Both teams to score @ 6/5 with William Hill

Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £20 with William Hill

Match Preview Background

Udinese vs Verona Preview

Derby vs Huddersfield Preview

Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Preview

    Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Match Info Date: Sunday February 16 2020 Kick-off time: 5.30pm GMT Venue: San Mames Referee: Pablo Gonzalez Fuertes Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches (all league games) November 24 2019: Osasuna 1-2 Athletic Bilbao April 1 2017: Osasuna 1-2 Athletic Bilbao October 30 2016: Athletic Bilbao 1-1 Osasuna…