Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Preview

Jon Wilde 04 Feb 2020
  • Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona predictions for their Copa del Rey tie on Thursday

  • We are backing Barcelona to win narrowly and reach the semi-finals

  • Join William Hill and bet £10 to get £30 in free bets

Athletic Bilbao
L
D
D
D
D
Copa del Rey
20:00
06 Feb
v
Barcelona
W
W
L
W
W
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £90 with BetVictor

Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Match Info

Date: Thursday February 6 2020
Kick-off time: 8.00pm GMT
Venue: San Mames Stadium
Referee: Juan Martinez Munuera

Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches (all La Liga games)

August 16 2019: Athletic Bilbao 1-0 Barcelona

February 10 2019: Athletic Bilbao 0-0 Barcelona
September 29 2018: Barcelona 1-1 Athletic Bilbao

Total head-to-head matches played since 1993-94 (all competitions): 68
Athletic Bilbao wins: 11
Barcelona wins: 42
Draws: 15

Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Stats

  • This is the seventh time in the last 12 seasons that these clubs have been drawn together in the Copa del Rey
  • Barcelona came out on top in all of those six previous ties, including the final in 2009, 2012 and 2015
  • Athletic Bilbao hosted Barcelona three times over those six ties, each team winning 2-1 once and the other match finishing 1-1

Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Match Preview

These clubs renew familiar Copa del Rey rivalry with Barcelona aiming to continue their dominance against Athletic Bilbao in this competition.

As the stats above explain, this duo have met more often than not in the King’s Cup over the last dozen years and the Basque outfit have yet to snuff out Barcelona’s chances during this timeframe.

They actually remain the two most successful clubs in Copa del Rey history having lifted the trophy 53 times between them, with Barcelona’s total of 30 including four straight triumphs from 2015-18 before they lost the final last season against Valencia.

This could be a banana skin for the team whom Quique Setien took over last month because Barcelona have failed to win their last three meetings with Athletic Club, as they like to be called.

But Gaizka Garitano’s side have ridden their luck to reach the quarter-finals, needing to win penalty shootouts to get past Elche and Tenerife away from home, while they are also without a victory in their last seven La Liga games.

Despite being without injured Luis Suarez, Setien’s only setback in five matches at the Barcelona helm so far was a loss away to Valencia and he is backed to maintain his generally promising start by reaching the semi-finals within 90 minutes here.

MORE: Want predictions for other Spanish football matches? See our La Liga betting tips section, packed with insight from our expert tipsters. Also, planning a goalscorer bet? Visit our Anytime Goalscorer tips page to find our latest selection. We have lots more free football tips across our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Betting Tips

Barcelona to win @ 22/25 with William Hill
Both teams to score @ 19/20 with bet365

Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £18 with William Hill

Match Preview Background

Real Madrid vs Real Sociedad Preview

Brest vs Bordeaux Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Preview

    Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Match Info Date: Thursday February 6 2020 Kick-off time: 8.00pm GMT Venue: San Mames Stadium Referee: Juan Martinez Munuera Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches (all La Liga games) August 16 2019: Athletic Bilbao 1-0 Barcelona February 10 2019: Athletic Bilbao 0-0 Barcelona September 29 2018: Barcelona 1-1…