Aston Villa vs Southampton Preview

Jon Wilde 17 Dec 2019
  • Aston Villa vs Southampton predictions for their Premier League match on Saturday

  • We are backing both teams to collect a point at Villa Park

  • Join BetVictor and bet £5 to get £30 in free bets

Aston Villa Home Shirt
Aston Villa
W
L
L
L
D
Premier League
15:00
21 Dec
v
Southampton Home Shirt
Southampton
L
L
W
W
D
Odds correct at the time of writing
Match Preview Background

Aston Villa vs Southampton Score Prediction

A £10 bet returns £75 with BetVictor

Aston Villa vs Southampton Match Info

Date: Saturday December 21 2019
Kick-off time: 3.00pm GMT
Venue: Villa Park
Referee: Craig Pawson

Aston Villa vs Southampton Head-To-Head Record

Last 3 matches (league fixtures unless stated)

April 23 2016: Aston Villa 2-4 Southampton
December 5 2015: Southampton 1-1 Aston Villa
October 28 2015 (League Cup 4th round): Southampton 2-1 Aston Villa

Total head-to-head league matches played: 68
Aston Villa wins: 25
Southampton wins: 22
Draws: 21

Aston Villa vs Southampton Stats

  • Aston Villa have won only one of their last nine matches against Southampton
  • Both teams have scored in eight of their latest 10 meetings
  • Villa have collected only four points from the last 21 available in the Premier League

Aston Villa vs Southampton Match Preview

Aston Villa received a welcome boost on Tuesday when they thrashed Liverpool’s youngsters in the Carabao Cup – but are likely to find things much more difficult when they host Southampton.

Fixture scheduling benefited Villa hugely in the League Cup and they became this season’s first semi-finalists as Liverpool’s first-team squad were all in Qatar for the FIFA Club World Cup, leaving an under-23 side to represent the European champions.

The 5-0 drubbing Villa dished out came after a poor run in the Premier League of five defeats in seven and having made changes against the Liverpool kids, manager Dean Smith knows he has players he can call upon to freshen things up in the bread-and-butter competition.

Villa are level on points with Southampton and only out of the relegation zone on goal difference, so will drop into the bottom three if they lose to a team whose away record this term is better than those of the clubs around them.

Southampton have beaten Watford and Norwich at home in the last few weeks before a pair of single-goal defeats, but they have achieved positive results this season when visiting tough places such as Arsenal, Wolves, Sheffield United and Brighton.

We would not put too much store in the fact Villa won so easily against the Liverpool academy side and instead think they could be a held by a Southampton team who have shown they know how to pick up points on the road.

MORE: Get the very latest Premier League tips for the next round of matches on our Premier League predictions page. Also, planning a goalscorer bet? Visit our Anytime Goalscorer tips page to find our latest selection. We have lots more free football tips across the rest of our site and you can also follow our latest bets on Twitter at @FootballTips

Aston Villa vs Southampton Betting Tips

Draw @ 13/5 with BetVictor
Southampton to score the last goal @ 11/10 with bet365

Aston Villa vs Southampton Best Bet

A £10 bet returns £36 with BetVictor

Match Preview Background

Norwich City vs Wolves Preview

Wolfsburg vs Schalke Preview

Match Preview Background
Share this with your friends

    Match Preview Background

    Aston Villa vs Southampton Preview

    Aston Villa vs Southampton Match Info Date: Saturday December 21 2019 Kick-off time: 3.00pm GMT Venue: Villa Park Referee: Craig Pawson Aston Villa vs Southampton Head-To-Head Record Last 3 matches (league fixtures unless stated) April 23 2016: Aston Villa 2-4 Southampton December 5 2015: Southampton 1-1 Aston Villa October 28 2015 (League Cup 4th round):…