Portuguese Primeira Liga Predictions

Check out latest betting tips, odds and offers for all the upcoming Portuguese Primeira Liga action here.

See more league predictions

The Portuguese Primeira Liga took life back in 1934, and over the years, there have been over 70 teams involved in the competition. However, only five teams have won the title since its inception (Belenenses, Boavista, Benfica, FC Porto and Sporting CP). With the exception of Boavista and Belenenses, who have won just one title each, the battle has always been between the ‘Big Three’ – Benfica, FC Porto and Sporting CP. Benfica has won the competition for 37 times, Porto 29 times, and Sporting CP 19 times.

Benfica is the club with the most league, cup and league cup titles, as well as the most domestic titles – 81.

FC Porto, on the flip side, is the club with most Portuguese Super Cups and International titles won – 7.

Sporting CP are the reigning champions, following an excellent run to the title. They have collected 85 points from 34 matches played, while conceding just 20 goals.

2021/2022 Primeira Liga factfile

  • Country: Portugal
  • Founded: 1933
  • Reigning Champions: Sporting CP
  • Most Championships: Benfica (37 titles)
  • 2021/2022 Dates: August 2021 – May 2022
  • Website: www.ligaportugal.pt/pt/homepage/